CDA Region X EO

Macapagal Drive-Crossing Canitoan,
Zone 2, Barangay Canitoan
9000 Cagayan de Oro City

R10 Cooperative Month Celebration Culmination Program and the Search for Mr. and Ms. Cooperative R10 2023


The 2023 Cooperative Month culminating activity last October 27, 2023, at USTP Gymnasium in Lapasan, Cagayan de Oro City, was such a momentous occasion as it brought together cooperatives, local government units, cooperative development officers, national government agencies, and cooperative partners from all five provinces of Region 10. It started with a beautiful rendition of an opening prayer and singing of the National Anthem by the CLIMBS Chorale, followed by the recitation of the Cooperative Pledge by all attendees. Engr. Deal Noel Benegrado, Chairperson of the Regional Cooperative Development Council-10 (RCDC-10), and Mr. Edgardo A. Micayabas, Chairperson of the City Cooperative Development Council of Cagayan de Oro (CCDC-CDO), extended their warm welcome to the participants.

Inspirational messages were delivered by key figures in the cooperative sector, including Usec. Joseph B. Encabo, Chairperson of the Cooperative Development Authority (recorded video), Atty. Roy Hilario P. Raagas, Acting City Administrator of Cagayan de Oro City, spoke on behalf of Hon. Rolando A. Uy, Mayor of Cagayan de Oro City, and Aminoden A. Elias, Regional Director of CDA Region 10. They all expressed their warmest greetings, congratulated the success of all activities conducted for the whole month, and encouraged everyone to continue to unite in harnessing the power of cooperation for the benefit of the cooperative movement.

A significant highlight of the program was the awarding of plaques and recognition of the National and Regional Awardees of the Gawad Parangal 2023. The Local Government Units through their Cooperative Offices, were given due recognition for their big contribution to the implementation and development of the cooperative programs in their jurisdiction. The large and medium cooperatives were also recognized for their outstanding contributions. Acknowledging the importance of cooperation among cooperatives, the program recognized Koop Kapatid Big Brothers. These cooperatives generously extended assistance to identified micro-cooperatives in their respective areas. Special recognition was also given to the professionals in the academe for their contribution to cooperative study and research. Additionally, CDA- Accredited State University, MSU-IIT, Iligan City through its Center for Pedagogical Innovations, was acknowledged for its role in the conduct of TOT for cooperative training providers.

National Government Agencies with cooperative development programs were not left unnoticed, with the Department of Trade and Industries Region 10, Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Region 10, Department of Agriculture Region 10, Department of Agrarian Reform Region 10, Social Security System Region 10, PhilHealth 10, Pag-Ibig Fund Region 10, TESDA 10, and National Dairy Authority 10 receiving special recognition.

culmination2The Kaabag Awards were given to local chief executives and offices recognizing their very important role in the support of all cooperative-related activities, while the Bayanihan Awards were given to those cooperatives that provided financial assistance to other cooperatives affected by natural calamities. Furthermore, all cooperative sponsors and donors were credited for their generosity in contributing assistance, financial or in-kind, which led to the success of the month-long celebration. Special awards were also given to cooperative participants during the opening salvo. Moreover, all winners of the 2023 Coop Month Sportsfest (CEO Cup) received their plaques and medals, with Nestle EMPC being hailed as the overall champion. Finally, plaques of recognition were also given to the working committee members of the RCDC-10 and CCDC-CDO because of their passion and dedication to make all activities of the cooperative month successful and meaningful.

The much-anticipated moment of the evening was the coronation of Mr. and Ms. Cooperative R10 2023, featuring beautiful and handsome candidates representing their respective cooperatives competing for the title. The search was a way of promoting the importance and uniqueness of cooperatives, highlighting cooperative values and principles through the candidates’ advocacies and philosophies. Mr. Arrian Jhon Lunio, representing First Community Cooperative, won the title of Mr. Cooperative R10 2023, while Ms. Zharlea Ann Payusan from CLIMBS Life and General Insurance Cooperative was hailed as Ms. Cooperative R10 2023. The first runners-up were Mr. Marvie Angelo Damasing of A Brown Employees Credit Cooperative and Ms. Fritzie Jul G. Efren of First Community Cooperative, while Mr. Collin Superales and Rowella Jane Jabla, both from MSU-IIT National Multi-Purpose Cooperative, secured the second runner-up titles. The third runner-up title went to Mr. Earljohn Parreño and Honey Claire Daypuyat, both from Mambajao Multipurpose Cooperative. Mr. Lindley Neil C. Lumantas of CLIMBS Life and General Insurance Cooperative and Ms. Amilyn L. Baron of Oro Integrated Cooperative were recognized as the fourth runners-up. Finally, the fifth runner-up position went to Mr. John R. Patinga of Oro Integrated Cooperative and Shaira J. Del Carmen of A Brown Employees Credit Cooperative.

culmination3The awardees and winners who came and attended the culmination program were not the only ones who brought home plaques, awards, and prizes, but also the audience and other participants who won a variety of raffle prizes and cash prizes courtesy of Gov. Peter M. Unabia. TNT, PLDT and Smart Communications also gave out raffle items to lucky winners. The event was truly a resounding success, highlighting the strength, unity, and excellence of the cooperative sector of Region 10. It was a showcase of the dedication, passion, and talent of individuals who continue to promote cooperation, camaraderie, and, most importantly, the principles and values of cooperatives.