CDA Recognizes Excellence in the Cooperative Sector at 13th Gawad Parangal Awards

On October 13, 2023, the Cooperative Development Authority (CDA) celebrated the 13th year of its Gawad Parangal Awards, a prestigious event that recognized outstanding cooperatives and key partners in the sector.

With participants donned in their finest Filipiniana and Filipino-inspired attire, the event took place at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) in Pasay City. The event highlighted the remarkable achievements of cooperatives and individuals who have contributed significantly to the cooperative movement in the Philippines.

The CDA Gawad Parangal served as a testament to the cooperative sector’s dedication to achieving excellence in their practices and operations.

The winners in various categories included the Ilocano Farmers Multipurpose Cooperative in the Small Cooperatives Category, Tulo Multipurpose Cooperative in the Medium Cooperatives Category, Cooperative Union of Batangas in the Union of Cooperatives Category, and Nueva Vizcaya CSF Cooperative in the CSF Cooperative Category. These distinguished cooperatives were presented with a trophy and a cash prize in recognition of their exceptional performance.

In a notable first, the Gawad Parangal Awards expanded to recognize exceptional cooperatives in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM). The event awarded plaques of recognition and cash prizes to noteworthy cooperatives, with notable mentions for the Cotabato Regional Medical Center Employees Multipurpose Cooperative and the Notre Dame of Jolo Multipurpose Cooperative in the BARMM.

Hon. Nicanor M. Briones, Representative of the AGAP Partylist and Chairperson of the House Committee on Cooperatives Development conveyed his heartfelt congratulations to the CDA and all the awardees. He emphasized his partylist’s ongoing endeavors to amend the current Philippine Cooperative Code of 2008 and introduce legislative bills to provide even more comprehensive support to the cooperative sector.

Senators Hon. Christopher “Bong” Go and Hon. Francis Ng “Tol” Tolentino received the CDA Plaque of Recognition for their consistent support in strengthening and empowering cooperatives. Senator Go assured the sector of his unwavering support to promote and develop cooperatives.

In recognition of their valuable contributions to cooperative development through meaningful legislative efforts, the CDA also honored several members of the House Committee on Cooperative Development, including Hon. Yevgeny Vicente B. Emano, Hon. Lordan G. Suan, Hon. Wilton T. Kho, Hon. Nicanor M. Briones, Hon. Felimon M. Espares, and Hon. Sergio C. Dagooc.

The event also recognized academically outstanding students majoring in Cooperative Social Enterprise Management and Community Education and Community Development at the PUP CSSD- Department of Cooperatives and Social Development.

Several State Universities and Colleges were commended for their commitment to advancing cooperative principles and practices by offering cooperative courses. The awardees included Mariano Marcos State University, Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University, Nueva Vizcaya State University, Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP), University of the Philippines – Los Banos (UP-LB), Bicol University, West Visayas State University (WVSU), and Rizal Memorial Colleges – School of Law.

Media partners, who have consistently supported the cooperative movement by disseminating the agency’s policies, programs, and activities, received Certificates of Recognition from the CDA. These media partners include Media House Express, The Manila Times, Philippine Media Network Service Cooperative, DWIZ – Up Up Pilipinas, Philippine News Agency, DZBB Serbisyo on the Spot, Go Agri-Radyo Pilipinas, Radyo Veritas – Buhay Kooperatiba, and Radyo Veritas.

The institutional partners and academe, known for their support and active involvement in promoting cooperative laws awareness, included the National Library of the Philippines (NLP), Philippine Information Agency (PIA), Philippine Fisheries Development Authority (PFDA), Landbank of the Philippines (LANDBANK), Office of the Solicitor General of the Philippines (OSG), Lyceum Northwestern University, Tarlac State University, Office of Alternative Dispute Resolution (OADR), and National Housing Authority (NHA).

Local Government Units (LGUs) received the Certificate of Recognition for fostering socio-economic progress through cooperativism and partnership with the CDA. These LGUs included Tabuk City, Alaminos City, City of San Jose del Monte, City of Santiago, Tanauan City, Municipality of Basud, Valencia City, Digos City, Kidapawan City, City of Cabadbaran, Municipality of Bataraza, Calbayog City, Municipality of Ipil, and City of Talisay. Highly urbanized cities and provinces were also acknowledged for their commitment to empowering cooperatives.

The evening concluded with Usec. Joseph B. Encabo congratulating the awardees and emphasizing the importance of their journey, story, and legacy in the cooperative sector. Recipients of the awards received financial incentives as a show of support and acknowledgment for their dedication to cooperative principles and values.

The 13th Gawad Parangal Awards was a significant event that recognized the dedication and excellence of the cooperative sector and its vital partners, reinforcing their commitment to the advancement of cooperatives.

The official photos of the CDA Gawad Parangal 2023 Awarding Ceremony can be seen at this link: