NCDC Elects New Officers

Around 70 representatives from different member-organizations of the National Cooperative Development Council or NCDC elected its new set of officers last January 23, 2013 during its Annual General Assembly Meeting held in Hotel Rembrandt, Quezon City. The NCDC is the national consultative body for cooperative development programs and projects created by virtue of Executive Order 93.

Philippine Cooperative Center Chairperson Norma R. Pereyras was chosen to succeed the outgoing NCDC head former Senator Agapito “Butz” Aquino. Incidentally, the same pattern of succession ensued as Ms. Pereyras likewise replaced Butz Aquino as PCC Chairperson in PCC’s election last year.

Meanwhile, Zamboanga City Councilor Myra Paz Abubakar retained her position as Vice-Chairperson of NCDC. The League of Cooperative Development Officers of the Philippines (LCDOP) President Celia Atienza on the other hand vested the position of Secretary of the council and Southern Tagalog Regional Cooperative Development Council (STaRCDC) Chair Rico Geron got elected as the council’s Treasurer. Dr. Anthony Bravo, Chairman of Bicol Regional Cooperative Development Council and the incumbent Auditor of the NCDC retained his post.

Prior to election, outgoing Chair Butz Aquino emphasized that those nominated to the positions must manifest before the members of the council their willingness to serve.

Immediately after the proclamation of winners by the Election committee, CDA Chairperson Emmanuel M. Santiaguel administered the oath of office and enjoined the newly elected officers to “enhance collaboration towards a responsive and sustainable cooperative agenda.” The officers are expected to conduct themselves “in a manner befitting a good and true officer” as stressed in their respective oath of office.