CDA Region X EO

Macapagal Drive-Crossing Canitoan,
Zone 2, Barangay Canitoan
9000 Cagayan de Oro City

CDA Region 10 Finance Cluster Meeting and Election of Officers

Cagayan de Oro City- On April 11, 2024, the Regional Clustered Organization Meeting and Election of Officers for the Finance Cluster via Zoom Videoconference Meeting was conducted by the CDA Regional Extension Office 10. It was an event uniting cooperatives belonging to the same cluster in the region. This virtual meeting not only highlighted the cooperative spirit but also marked a milestone in the leadership landscape of the biggest cluster among the RCO, the Finance Cluster.

The Finance Cluster, consisting of the Credit, Banking, Insurance, and Credit Surety Fund Cooperative sector is headed by Asec Luz H. Yringco, Board Member III of the Cooperative Development Authority (CDA). Asec Yringco graced the occasion with a message of support, emphasizing the importance of cooperation and collective action in driving financial empowerment at the grassroots level.

With a turnout of one hundred sixteen participants (116) from various cooperatives across Region 10, it is a clear demonstration of commitment and participation. Among the attendees were representatives from Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Iligan City, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, and Cagayan de Oro City.

The main agenda was the election of officers to lead the Finance Cluster Organization. Positions to be filled up include the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, as well as representatives per province and a Credit Service Representative. Each position held significance in shaping the direction and initiatives of the Finance Cluster.
After a democratic voting process which was officiated by Edwin Pelosas, the following individuals were proclaimed as winners:

President: Mr. Dave J. Pajaron, Jr. (PFCCO Mindanao League)
Vice-President: Mr. Juan B. Galon, Jr. (A Brown Employees Credit Cooperative)
Secretary: Kelly Mary Delos Reyes (Kauswagan Community MPC)
Treasurer: Mary Ann R. Abuzo (Mass-Specc Cooperative Development Center)

The representatives per province were elected as follows:
Bukidnon: Imelda H. Esteban (Kauyagan Savers MPC)
Camiguin: Benjie Piquero (Camiguin Provincial MPC)
Lanao del Norte: Ms. Ivy B. Jaudian (Maria Cristina Women’s Credit Cooperative)
Iligan City: Mr. Nestor D. Lacastesantos Jr. (Iligan Cement Multipurpose Cooperative)
Misamis Occidental: Mark Anthony Liboon (Paglaum MPC)
Misamis Oriental: Mary Jane Jalagat (INCHSTECO)
Cagayan de Oro: Elma P. Cunanan (COA-PIMUPCO)

Additionally, Emigdio Iroy from Mambajao Multipurpose Cooperative was elected as the Credit Service Representative.

A virtual oath-taking ceremony administered by Asec Luz H. Yringco followed through after the declaration of winners further underscoring the commitment of the chosen leaders to their roles and responsibilities. Thereafter, the closing remarks were delivered by the newly-elected President of the RCO Cluster, Mr. Dave Pajaron Jr., expressing gratitude and outlining his vision for the Finance Cluster’s future endeavors.

In summary, the event was truly a resounding success, symbolizing unity, democracy, and a shared commitment to advancing the interests of cooperatives in Region 10. The newly-elected officers, entrusted with leadership roles, are poised to steer the Finance Cluster towards greater heights and promote financial inclusivity and empowerment across the region.