CDA Region XI EO

SPMC Compound, Friendship Road, Dumanlas, Buhangin, Davao City, 8000 Davao del Sur

GA meeting and Election of Officers of the RCO for Public Utilities Held

The General Assembly and Election of Officers of the Regional Clustered Organization (RCO) for the Public Utilities kicked off on May 25, 2021 via Zoom platform. According to the CDA Memorandum Circular 2020-28, RCO is defined as “a recognized association of primary, secondary and tertiary cooperatives as well as union of cooperatives belonging to a specific cluster operating in the region” that seeks to serve as a “consultative body of cooperatives in the regional level.” As the Head of the Public Utilities Cluster, ASec. Abad Santos, pointed out that though the RCO is not mentioned in the new CDA Charter (RA 11364), we cannot proceed immediately to the formation of Sectoral Apex Organizations (SAO) and National Alliance of Cooperatives (NAC) without starting from the bottom up.

Dir. Elma R. Oguis welcomed the participants of the event. Dir. Oguis told them that it is in this forum that they could help the Authority in crafting “policies that are very applicable and needed” by the cooperatives and that their “clamor be now in fruition”. Through a pre-recorded video, the CDA Chairman and the keynote speaker for the said event, USec. Joseph Joy B. Encabo, expressed gratitude to the CDA officials and employees, and partner-cooperatives for their “unwavering support and dedication” to the cooperative members “especially in these trying times.” He assured the participants in attendance that the Authority will work hard “to create and develop sound policies and concrete actions to promote economic sustainability, social justice, and inclusivity.” He then appealed to everyone to join in building a “more responsive, proactive, and unified cooperative movement.”

Ms. Doreen Catayoc, Head of the Cooperative Project Development Assistance Section (CPDAS), acknowledged the participants in attendance by province. The Head of the Regulatory Unit, Mr. Carlo Boji Nazareno, presented the profile of cooperatives in the Public Utilities Cluster under Davao Region. Before the election of officers and representatives for the RCO for Public Utilities, the presentation on the legal bases of the formation of RCO, SAO, and NAC, and the procedural guidelines on the election of officers was given by Mr. Antonio Escobar, the Supervising Cooperative Development Authority and the Legal Officer of CDA XI. The newly-elected officers and representatives are the following:

President: Engr. Marcelo Sumampong (MAWASCO)

Vice President: Mr. Henry Guiral (DITC)

Secretary: Ms. Zenaida Martinez (MAWASAMPCO)

Treasurer: Ms. Joy Jade Relos (VITRUWASCO)


  • Water Service: Mr. Emmanuel Narca (PAWASCO)
  • Transport Service: Mr. Feliciano Villacencio (SEMTRAMPCO)
  • Davao del Norte: Mr. Roberto Manuales (Kauswagon Water Service Cooperative)
  • Davao Oriental: Ms. Joyce Hequibal (AAC Transport Service Cooperative)
  • Davao de Oro: Mr. Jaime Mahilum (MOWSAMPUSECO)
  • Davao City: Mr. Erwin Manlod (CALTRANSCO)


After the election, the newly-elected officers and representatives swore the oath of office administered by Atty. Joan Limpin on behalf of ASec. Abad Santos. Ms. Noemi Magabilen, head of the working committee of the RCO General Assembly and Election, did the honor of giving the closing remarks. Ms. Magabilen congratulated the newly-elected officers and representatives, and reminded them of their functions. After the event, the participants opened their webcams and posed for the screen capture for posterity. The event was hosted by Ms. Maria Theresa Dave, Cooperative Development Specialist II for Davao City.