Profile of the Region

Caraga, officially designated as Region XIII, is an administrative region in the Philippines occupying the northeastern section of Mindanao. It covers 5 provinces, namely, Agusan del NorteAgusan del SurDinagat IslandsSurigao del Norte, and Surigao del Sur, as well as 1 highly urbanized city. The regional center is the City of Butuan.

Its population as determined by the 2015 Census was 2,596,709. This represented 10.76% of the overall population of the Mindanao island group, or 2.57% of the entire population of the Philippines. (source:

As of December 2020, there are 749 Compliant Cooperatives in the Region with an estimated cooperative members of 257,945. Of the 749 compliant cooperatives, 1.74% (13) are Large Cooperatives, 10.95% (82) are Medium Cooperatives, 18.02% (135) are Small Cooperatives, and 69.29% (519) are Micro Cooperatives.