• 1 of 2 Welcome
  • 2 of 2 5-6-kalaban

Co-op Stories

SAN FERNANDO CITY, January 10 (PIA) - Jean (not her real name), a member of the Saint Louis Credit Cooperative, recently filed for an emergency loan of P20,000 for her husband who was rushed to the  hospital. Aside from her financial needs is his husband’s need for blood.

NSCC logo

It all started with a goal to help, to serve and to achieve a holistic development of people within all Barangays and Municipalities of Ilocos Sur thru unifying cooperative services.  This goal was planted like a seed by the Archdiocese of Nueva Segovia thru the Archbishop of that time His Eminence Orlando Cardinal Quevedo and Msgr. Ambrose L. Cabildo.  Today, that seed of ambition has grown full bloom and now being recognized as the NUEVA SEGOVIA CONSORTIUM OF COOPERATIVES.

featured 2016 05 10 ilijanThe Brgy. Ilijan is located 28 kms away from the City Proper of Batangas. It is considered the third largest barangay with an area of 1,007.32 hectares and has about 5,000 population. It has around 3,000 voting population. It is considered as an agro-industrial site wherein the 1,200 MW KEPCO- Ilijan Corp. is located. This company supplies electricity to Dasmarinas and Tayabas grid. Currently, the area is composed of laborers, professionals (teachers, engineers, and employees), farmers, fisher folks, OFWs, youth and senior citizens.

natcco2The National Confederation of Cooperatives or NATCCO Network is a story of transformation. It was established on January 23, 1977 in Cebu City by the five regional co-op training centers: Tagalog Cooperative Training Center (TAGCOTEC), Visayas Cooperative Development Center (VICTO), Bicol Cooperative Development Center (BCDC), Northern Luzon Federation of Cooperatives and Development Center (NORLUCEDEC), and Southern Philippines Educational Center for Cooperatives (SPECC). NATCCO originally meant National Association of Training Centers for Cooperatives. Its task was to coordinate the trainings and educational services for cooperatives at the national level. NATCCO transformed into a multi-service national co-op federation after the 1986 EDSA Revolution; the member regional training centers became multi-service co-op development centers. The acronym NATCCO became National Confederation of Cooperatives in 1989.

featured 2016 05 10 siayan1BRIEF HISTORY

In a beautiful and unexploited town in the mid-part of Zamboanga del Norte  emerged a cooperative owned and managed by the employees and officials of the Local Government of Siayan officially registered with Cooperative Development Authority (CDA) under the present name SIAYAN OFFICIALS AND EMPLOYEES MULTI-PURPOSE COOPERATIVE (SOEMPUCO). From its humble beginnings, SOEMPUCO was informally organized in 1992 by 25 employees and staff of the local government unit of Siayan with a small canteen with a capital contribution of PhP50.00 per member. With strong perseverance, good management, transparency and honesty, the cooperative grew to become the only bank-like institution in the municipality for almost fourteen (14) years.  The road situation and the distance from its nearest urban center were the major considerations then.